Not way to raise PIBG funds

Wednesday June 13, 2012

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2012/6/13/focus/11465645&sec=focus

I WAS surprised when my nephew told me that his school’s Persatuan Ibu Bapa dan Guru (PIBG) had sent out a letter asking each student to donate RM100 towards the PIBG.

It’s not a problem if the family is rich. But the majority of the families in Port Dickson are not that well of.

If the PIBG is short of funds, then it should find other means of collecting funds, rather then take the easy way of forcing the students to pay up.

Children at times can be cruel. If a student is unable to pay the RM100, the other students will start teasing him or her. At the end of the day, the poor parents are made to beg borrow or steal to pay up.

I hope the Education Ministry will take a look into this matter, because I see that PIBGs are given a free hand in a lot of matters regarding their schools.

LIONEL PERERA,

Port Dickson, Negri Sembilan.