TEACHERS: Blanket assessment an insult

Wednesday, July 04, 2012,

By Lim Bee Hoon, Batu Pahat, Johor 0 comments

I REFER to the online English proficiency test that teachers have to take. I have but 18 months to retirement. It isn’t that I am afraid I will fail when I do the test online. It just adds insult to my age and experience as an English teacher for 37 years to be lumped together with the others to take the test in order to be assessed online. Now, whose idea was it in the first place?
I would understand if the incompetent and not proficient ones were identified to take the test, but no, all must take it as instructed.
So what happens to my distinction in English at Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia (SPM) level in 1971? Is it not credit worthy or have I to do it because the authorities have discovered recently that there are too many English teachers who are not up to the mark, hence the decision to have a blanket assessment.
I speak English, breathe English and even dream in English. I speak proficient English, even better than today’s graduates and can detect a grammar error the minute it’s spoken or written. I believe there are many holding positions of authority who can’t speak better English than I; and when they speak, I only hear a smattering of English and that, to them, is English.
I may be bold to defy orders but as an educator, I feel it’s high time I voiced out my thoughts for all to hear as we feel literally humiliated by the very system of which we are a part in the name of education.
If I am tested on impromptu public-speaking, I think I would be able to say anything offhand, as I do at my meetings and school assemblies as a school head, in order to steer the school to English proficiency.
Can someone address our grievances or do we have to keep quiet and swallow our pride and allow ourselves to be trampled over and over again?

Read more: TEACHERS: Blanket assessment an insult – Letters to the Editor – New Straits Times http://www.nst.com.my/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/teachers-blanket-assessment-an-insult-1.102324#ixzz1zc224hiD

Leave a Reply

