18 schoolmates beat me for 4 hours, alleges boy

Monday, July 16, 2012

IPOH: A 16-year-old student was beaten by 18 of his schoolmates for nearly four hours in a religious school on Saturday because they suspected he had stolen RM100.

The Form Four boy was first assaulted by five schoolmates for about 30 minutes in a hostel at the school in Kampung Gajah, Perak Tengah, at 1.30am.

He was then taken to another hostel where another 13 boys joined in the beating, which only stopped during prayer time.

“I repeatedly denied stealing the money, but they kept on beating me.

“I cried as I could not stand the pain, but they continued beating me,” he said at his house in Kampung Sungai Tapah Tambahan here yesterday.

“In between the beating, they would take a break for two to three minutes before continuing to assault me.”

The boy said he suffered injuries to the face, lips and other parts of the body after he was punched, kicked and hit with a broomstick before collapsing on the floor.

The boy later called his family. They rushed to the school and took him to the hostel warden.

The boy’s mother Azian Ismail, 40, said the warden summoned all the 18 students who then admitted to assaulting her son.

Also present was the victim’s father, Mustapa Uthman.

“When I asked why they assaulted my son, one of them told me that he had stolen the money. When we asked for evidence, they said they only suspected him… and they did not even bother to apologise,” Azian said.

She later lodged a police report at the Kampung Gajah police station. The boy later sought outpatient treatment at Changkat Melintang Hospital.

The school management said it had conducted an inquiry and would leave the matter to the police.

Perak Tengah district police chief Superintendent Mohd Fakri Che Sulaiman said they would meet the school management soon.

Read more: 18 schoolmates beat me for 4 hours, alleges boy – General – New Straits Times http://www.nst.com.my/nation/general/18-schoolmates-beat-me-for-4-hours-alleges-boy-1.107953#ixzz20kIKimYB