EXAMINATION: PMR English paper quite difficult

Email Print 16 October 2012 | last updated at 07:35AM

By Lim Bee Hoon, Batu Pahat, Johor | letters@nstp.com.my 0 comments

MY friend just showed me the recent Penilaian Menengah Rendah (PMR) English paper and I was shocked that it was quite a difficult one, even for an educator like me.
I don’t teach PMR English but that doesn’t mean I don’t know the principles of formulating questions. The panel of examiners should know that there ought to be questions to test all levels of proficiency and not only the good ones.
If I had found it confusing and difficult, I wonder how the students would fare in this paper. Imagine their stress and frustration.
I am not saying that the examination board is at fault but the panel of examiners should be re-evaluated and reassessed as I have come across teachers marking the UPSR English paper who are weak in English. However, they are roped in by their friends who are heading the team at the district level.
It’s a shame as I have friends who are good English teachers but who never get into the team because of the way the selection is done.
I hope the authorities are aware of this and will rectify the situation.

Read more: EXAMINATION: PMR English paper quite difficult – Letters to the Editor – New Straits Times http://www.nst.com.my/opinion/letters-to-the-editor/examination-pmr-english-paper-quite-difficult-1.157658#ixzz2A0YhmW6q

Leave a Reply

