2012, Arkib Berita, Pembangunan Sekolah, Program

SMS Miri wins Chief Minister’s Debate Championship

Posted on October 31, 2012, Wednesday

GOOD JOB: Taib (centre) congratulating teams from SMK Baleh and Sekolah Menengah Sains (SMS) Miri for their excellent performance at the 27th Chief Minister’s Debate Championship Finals yesterday. Photo by Jeffery Mostapa.

KUCHING: SM Sains Miri yesterday debated their way to victory against SMK Baleh at the 27th Chief Minister’s Debate Championship Finals here.

The team walked away with RM5,000 in cash, challenge trophy, trophy and certificates and two laptops sponsored by Takaful Ikhlas Sdn Bhd.

SMS Miri team leader Muhammad Syafiq Safri had a double dose of victory as he was also named the best debater and received RM1,000 in cash, certificate of participation and a trophy.

Team members Eva Vanessa, Siti Hajar Mohd Hafiz and Nazatul Nadhirah all showed equal confidence and prowess at the finals held at Islamic Information Centre (IIC).

The debate topic was ‘History Lesson Will Strengthen Patriotism Among Youths In Malaysia’, and a total of 125 schools participated in the annual event this year.

Second placed SMK Baleh team members Ema Dona Tuoh, Edora Siam Bayong, Stephanie Jengga and Melvin Lebak not only received prizes but won applause from guest-of- honour Chief Minister Pehin Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud for their tenacity during the competition, which showed students from rural schools were as capable of achieving success as their urban peers.

“Even if the competition started with participants from urban schools initially now we can see that schools in the interior like SMK Baleh can in fact go far and succeed.

“This shows that if we work hard enough for education development in the state, students from both the rural and urban areas will benefit from it,” he said.

The chief minister also urged schools in the state to use next

year’s 50th Malaysia Day celebration as a platform to ingrain patriotism as both Sarawakians and Malaysians among their students.

“We need to look into this and next year is the best time for us to encourage patriotism and remind ourselves of the love and appreciation we have as Malaysians,” he added.

SMK Baleh walked away with RM3,000 in cash, trophy and certificate of participation and one laptop sponsored by Takaful Ikhlas Sdn Bhd.

Third and fourth place winners SMK Kabong and SMK Bako each received RM2,000 and RM1,000, trophy and certificates respectively.

Best Non-Bumiputera Speaker title was awarded to Lee Sing Kiat of SMK Kabong.

The competition was organised by the Chief Minister’s Department, Radio Televisyen Malaysia (RTM), State Education Department and Dewan Bahasa dan Pustaka Sarawak.

According to RTM state broadcasting director Fee Lin Chiew, the competition was held not only to seek debate champions but also as an arena to identify students who are successful academically and could be future leaders.

“The debate has also opened up opportunities for participants to be prepared in facing the workforce with confidence,” she added.

Also present were Deputy Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Alfred Jabu, Welfare, Women and Family Development Minister Datuk Fatimah Abdullah, Assistant Minister in the Chief Minister’s Office (Islamic Affairs) Datuk Daud Abdul Rahman, Taib’s wife Puan Sri Ragad Kurdi Taib and State Education director Abdillah Adam.