System takes too much time, energy

Friday November 9, 2012

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2012/11/9/focus/12295567&sec=focus

WHILE waiting for my assessment page (SPPBS) to save the data, I write about my disappointment and frustration.

I woke up at four this morning in order to log in to the SPPBS webpage. I tried many times and managed to save only the co-curricular information of a student and that took more than 20 minutes.

After that, I had to wait and restart the webpage. Now, it’s 5am, and I managed to key in and save the information of only one student.

Just imagine, I had to key in 120 times, so how long should I take?

For co-curricular activities, Form One teachers are asked to key in the society or club, uniformed society, sports and extra-curricular activities. My class has 30 students and it will take me many days to key in the information.

Not to forget, before this I also keyed in SEGAK (the assessment for physical activities) which included the weight, height and physical achievements for each student.

On top of that, I had to key in the bands for the subject I’m teaching.

All the information requires lots of energy, endless effort, time and patience.

Tomorrow, I have to invigilate the SPM examination.

Fortunately, I have rejected the marking of SPM papers.

I’m exhausted just after five years of teaching. I wonder what is happening to my colleagues, those who have been teaching for more than 25 years.

I really look up to them if they still have the passion for the profession.

As an ordinary teacher, I have no choice. I have to adhere to all the deadlines (before Nov 20 ) given by the Education Ministry so that I’m considered to have abided by the government policy.

I would like to appeal to the relevant authority to look into this policy. It sounds good on paper but the implementation should be done wisely and systematically.

Otherwise, the new policy will be futile and end up like the PPSMI (Teaching of Science and Maths in English).

The teaching profession is no longer enjoyable. Many senior teachers have told me this and many have opted for early retirement.

As for me, a junior teacher, I have more than 25 years to go in this profession.

AN EXHAUSTED TEACHER
Gurun, Kedah