2012, Arkib Berita, Pembangunan Sekolah

College wins excellent secondary school award

Posted on December 6, 2012, Thursday

by Geryl Ogilvy Ruekeith, reporters@theborneopost.com.

STUDENT AWARD CATEGORY: Taib presents the award to Quziana. Also seen is Adenan (second left).

KUCHING: Kolej Datu Patinggi Abang Haji Abdillah of Kuching and SMK Chung Hua Miri were adjudged ‘Sekolah Menengah Cemerlang’ and ‘Sekolah Menengah Gemilang’ respectively in the 20th edition of Sarawak Chief Minister’s Special Award 2012, which also saw the introduction of two new categories namely ‘Guru Kelainan Upaya’ and ‘Pelajar Kelainan Upaya (STPM)’.

SMK Pusa, Betong was declared ‘Sekolah Menengah Harapan’ while Yong Chwan Fwu of SMK Batu Lintang Kuching received the new ‘Guru Kelainan Upaya’ award (for teachers with disability) for his 13 years of service at SMK Batu Lintang’s Special Education Integration Programme.

The new ‘Pelajar Kelainan Upaya’ award went to Eric Su Chii Mou of SMK Bandar Sibu.

Su is no stranger when it comes to achieving excellent results as he was a straight A student for UPSR and PMR. In his SPM examination, he scored 5As+, 3As, 2A- and 1B. In his recent STPM examination, Su achieved 3As and 1A-.

The ‘Sekolah Rendah Cemerlang’ category winner was SK St Teresa, Kuching, while ‘Sekolah Rendah Harapan’ was SJK Chung Hua Pusa, Betong. The Principal’s Award went to Charles Tiong Yong Liek of SM Vocational Sibu while the Headmaster’s Award was won by Su’ut Tahir of SK Agama, Bintulu.

The Excellent Achievement Award was given to SMK Bintulu Robotic Team for their achievements in both state and national-level robotic competitions. The team represented the country in the Kuala Lumpur World Robot Olympiad 2012 in November where they won a bronze medal. The team was the overall champion in the 2012 FIRST LEGO League Open European Championship.

SMK Serian educator Sivanesvaran Selvaretnam, who introduced the use of ICT and online technology to create various applications, won the Secondary Schools Teachers Open Category.

Other winners included Zamniha Abdul Ghani of SM Vokasional Sibu in the Secondary School Teachers category, Hajibah Sepawi (SK Rakyat Jalan Haji Bolhassan Kuching) in Primary School Teachers category and Ting Siew Nguong of SJK Methodist Sibu for Primary School Teachers Co-curriculum category.

Student winners in other categories were Joshua Joel Lim Yung Chern of SMK Batu Lintang (STPM Science Stream), Quziana Zulaikha Mahnor of SMK Bandar Bintangor, Meradong (STPM Humanity Stream), Gabriel Chai Wei Kiong of SMK Batu Lintang (SPM Science Stream), Angeline Stephen of SMK Tiong Hin, Sibu (SPM Humanity Stream), Lerroy Lemen of SMK Marudi, Baram (Penan Student) and Easter Janta Demong of SMK St Anthony, Sarikei (Disabled Student SPM).

The Parents-Teachers Association Award went to SK Ulu Lubai, Limbang.

The award recipients were selected solely based on merits by a special Sarawak Foundation and state Education Department joint committee.

Chief Minister Pehin Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud officiated at the event held at Hilton Hotel here on Tuesday, which was co-organised by Yayasan Sarawak with the Education Department. It was also attended by Special Functions Minister Tan Sri Datuk Amar Adenan Satem who is also Sarawak Foundation chairman, State Secretary Tan Sri Datuk Amar Morshidi Ghani, State Federal Secretary Datuk Mohd Yahaya Basimin and state Education director Abdillah Adam. CONGRATULATIONS: Taib presents an award to Sivanesvaran as Adenan (left) and Morshidi (front third left)look on.

Read more: http://www.theborneopost.com/2012/12/06/college-wins-excellent-secondary-school-award/#ixzz2EcGrl2ZF